(713) 900-6424

Article provided by: Alabama DUI Defense

Dui Alabama

Dui Alabama

In the state of Alabama, drunk driving is a pretty serious offense. You are not only putting yourself in danger, but you are also putting everyone else around you in danger. As such, you must steer clear of anything that might even remotely resemble DUI in Alabama.

Having said that, whether you don’t have to face any DUI law in Alabama or you’re facing a DUI arrest, and you need the best lawyer in Alabama, you should still educate yourself. That way, you can stay on top of the laws guiding drunk driving in the state.

Under What Conditions are You Considered to Be Driving under Influence in Alabama?

In Alabama, and most places in the United States of America, you need to hit a certain percentage on an alcohol test to be considered guilty. The test is known as a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) test. You should know, however, that its proclamation of your guilt is dependent on several things.

  • If you’re 21 years or older, you should not have a BAC that’s up to 0.08%. If you do, you’ll be considered to be drinking under the influence. As such, you’ll definitely be needing a top of the line DUI attorney in Alabama. If you’re a commercial vehicle operator, your BAC shouldn’t be up to 0.04%. This reduced threshold is because the lives of your passengers are in your hands. You have to be in the perfect state of mind. Note that as long as you’re operating a commercial vehicle, it doesn’t matter who you are.

  • If you’re younger than 21 years, you mustn’t have a BAC higher than 0.02%. However, you might not get any significant punishments outside treatment for substance abuse and license suspension.

You should note that you don’t necessarily need to be driving the car to be found guilty. You just need to be in physical control of the car. This could mean that you merely need to be behind the wheels.

What are the Penalties for DUI in Alabama?

The consequences you will face if you are driving under the influence differ based on how many other times you have been found guilty. This is apart from the other specifics that come with the case. Ultimately, however, the judge determines your punishment.

  1. First Offence

In your first case, you might be let off relatively easy. But, if you don’t have a good Alabama law firm providing you with the unbeaten Alabama DUI lawyers, the case could be much worse. You might be looking at punishments like:

  • Up to one year of jail time
  • $600-$2100 fine
  • 90 days suspension of license
  • 6-24 months of IID, depending on BAC.
  1. Second Offence

On your second count of drinking under the influence case, you might be looking at the following punishments:

  • Five days to 1 year of jail time
  • $1100 to $5100 fine
  • One year revocation of your license
  • 2-4 years of IID, depending on BAC.
  1. Third Offence

This holds the most serious offenses and might indicate your unwillingness to change. On your third count of drinking under the influence, you might have to undergo the following:

  • Sixty days to one year of jail time.
  • $2100 to $10100 fine
  • 3-year revocation of your license
  • 3-6 years of IID, depending on BAC.

A DUI in Alabama is no joke. Outside the offenses outlined here, you’ll have to carry a permanent criminal record. As such, you must get a DUI lawyer that is second to none. It’s your best chance at beating this. Contact Polson and Polson for a free consultation: (205) 871-8838.

Dui Alabama

We welcome your comments!

Dui Alabama